Sunday Morning Rant

Well, it’s been a while since I’ve had a chance to sit and think much less write. Today I’m finally able to just get back to where I want to be. 

So sitting here in the quiet while my family sleeps in, I find a cup of coffee got my thoughts spinning. Here we are already about halfway through March 2015 and what has happened? I have seen crazy winter weather here in Texas, lost someone close, and been taking on too many extra things that pull me away from where I need to be most. I think it’s time to rethink my plans and priorities for 2015.

So, what is it and where is it that I need to be? I need to spend quality time with my family as they are what’s most important to me. My youngest needs her mom and though my first born is off in college she needs me too. I need to learn to say no to things so I’m not stretched too thin and easily irritated when it comes to my family. I need to help my husband see that spending time interacting with us is more important than long days and late nights at the office. These days go by too fast and I don’t want to miss anymore of them. 

And that means what? Well, like everyone in this country we are facing financial hardship due to lost income directly related to the new healthcare laws that took effect the first of this year. This mean we have less to try to pay our bills than we had last year and enough less that I now have to make up the difference. All our credit lines have been maxed trying to keep this at bay but it’s no use as it just makes it worse. So now I’m faced with trying to get back into the job market to stabilize our family income. 

Now I will have to use my knitting to destress and find weekend time to dye so that my creativity isn’t stifled by the weekly grind of a full time job. Hopefully I can get my spinning wheel working again so that I can have the relaxing pleasure of turning fiber into yarn. 

Now that my rant is over, I’ll move on to happier things. I have been working on knitting a pair of stripey socks and I finished a cowl out of handspun. Next on the agenda is to work on my sweater, make a small one for Baby K and finish the handmade a for my upcoming swaps.  I will take pictures of the items not involved in swaps and get them posted tomorrow. 

Now it’s time for me to head back working on updating my résumé and preparing a meal for my family.

Til next time

~>K<~

About KatieB

I am very happily married to my best friend. We have 2 wonderful girls who are in 1st grade and college, and 2 large but loving dogs. Creativity is my passion and I bring it to life in many forms. I am in the middle of chaos trying to find the calm. I find comfort in the Lord as he has promised. "who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God." 2 Corinthians 1:4 "As a mother comforts her child, so will I comfort you..." Isaiah 66:13
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment