Finish-line Friday is Back!

So after my crazy hiatus I am trying to get back into the swing of my normal week. One of the things I have missed was sharing my finished objects with you my dear readers. I am happy to say that I am able to start doing that again this week.

I was finally able to get the dropped stitches sorted out on my Pirate square for the Geek-A-Long blanket. Once that was figured out the remainder of the square went quickly.

2014-08-22 09.10.14

Now that is finished I have started another square. I declare that I <em>WILL</em> finish all the squares by December.

I found out recently that several friends of mine are expecting new bundles of joy. This brought about my desire to knit baby things. Why? Because when I was expecting my girls I was A.) not a knitter at the time of my oldest and B.) such a new knitter that I was scared to do more that a small baby blanket with my youngest. I still have those moments of “I want another baby” but I know for my family that’s not going to happen so I’ll be waiting for grandkids. In the meantime, I will practice baby knitting for my friends.

So with that I started my search for a cute baby sweater that could go for either a boy or girl as they have decided not to find out until the baby is born. I was still on the hunt for a yarn and pattern when I was traveling to Colorado to visit my mom. We stopped in a new yarn shop in Woodland Park. It’s a neat little place and they had some nice samples out. One of these samples grabbed my attention and told me what baby item I would be knitting. I have fallen for Elizabeth Zimmerman’s Baby Surprise Jacket. It is a quick knit and I will say that I can easily see me knitting it for my basket of knits when I want a new quick project. Yarn was found and knit. If you haven’t seen this before or tried your hand at knitting a BSJ cast on for one. Just be prepared that it won’t be the only one you make.

So here is what I knit.

2014-08-22 09.10.43

Can you believe that turns into this just by folding?

2014-08-22 09.11.18

All that’s left is to seam the sleeves and add the buttons. I think I’ll take the I-cord bind off and continue it around the neck after I join the sleeves.

Well, that’s it for this week. Until next time.

~>K<~

About KatieB

I am very happily married to my best friend. We have 2 wonderful girls who are in 1st grade and college, and 2 large but loving dogs. Creativity is my passion and I bring it to life in many forms. I am in the middle of chaos trying to find the calm. I find comfort in the Lord as he has promised. "who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God." 2 Corinthians 1:4 "As a mother comforts her child, so will I comfort you..." Isaiah 66:13
This entry was posted in Creating, FB, Finish-line Friday, General, KAL, Weekly Features and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Finish-line Friday is Back!

  1. I love the variegated with the black! Looks great ❤

Leave a Reply

